{{:: 'cloud_flare_always_on_short_message' | i18n }}
Check @genius for updates. We'll have things fixed soon.


AKA: Jahmaal Noel Fyffe, Jahmaal Fyffe, and Chipmunk

About Chip

Jahmaal Noel Fyffe, better known as Chip, is a Tottenham-based grime and hip hop MC. Born to Jamaican parents, who later separated, Chip grew up in a tough housing estate in north London. He was nicknamed Chipmunk on account of being “short and chubby, with big teeth”, by a friend who later died in a stabbing.

Listening to Dizzee Rascal on pirate radio stations inspired him to start rapping and by 13 he was producing his own CDs. He made his name in the grime scene in the early 00’s later experimenting with pop music, making many chart topping singles with his debut album I Am Chipmunk.

He released his sophomore album in 2011 named Transition which featured many superstars such as Keri Hilson, Chris Brown and Trey Songz.

After his recording contract ended with Sony he decided to look elsewhere and was signed to T.I’s label Grand Hustle Records and released a mixtape entitled London Boy on Christmas Day 2012, getting back to his rapping roots as opposed to pop music.

Chip found himself back in the public eye after returning to grime and sending for Tinie Tempah, Bugzy Malone and Devilman among others in early 2015. His first diss track, entitled “Pepper Riddim”, sparked the most talked-about grime beef of the year. Chip was unintentionally responsible for putting the world on to Bugzy, who managed to chart with his Walk with Me EP, and so he hit back with a fresh set of diss tracks entitled Light Work.

2015 saw Chip release two extended plays – Believe & Achieve EPisode 1 and EPisode 2, as well as a slew of diss tracks which have reestablished his position as a prominent member of the grime scene. On Christmas Day 2015, he released Rap vs. Grime, a mixtape combining new grime songs with freestyles over hip hop instrumentals.

In 2016, Chip released the Nigerian crossover single “Reaching”, backed with the Yungen diss “Michelle Riddim”. On 26 August, he released a new EP, Power Up, featuring five singles, and contributions from Kranium, Ice Kid, Jme and Tre Mission among others.